top of page

Yoga Sutras of Patanjali translated by Yogi Kalinath - Chapter 2, Verse 16

Pada 2, Sutra 16

Sanskrit Verse

Heyam duhkham anaagatam


Pain yet to come can be avoided.


There are 3 types of Karma that give rise to pain: ‘Seeding Karma’ (Sabija Karma) where through our thoughts, words and deeds from previous lives we have seeded Karma for better (pleasurable) or worst (painful) in this life often reflected in our gene potential, ‘Collecting Karma’ (Agami Karma) generating Karma through our thoughts, words and deeds in this life contributing to our ever evolving ‘Karmic Balance Sheet’ and ‘Sprouted Karma’ (Prarabdha Karma) when the Seed is sprouted and consequences are already clearly and irrevocably manifest for better (pleasurable) or worst (painful).

We cannot but face our Prarabdha Karma, there is no escape from this. However we can develop control to some extent of our Sabija Karma and to a much larger extent our Agami Karma. By becoming more conscious of and choosing the best and highest thoughts, words and deeds we are capable of according to proponents and circumstances. The highest vehicles to attenuate and even disintegrate our Karma are Karma Yoga and Bhakti Yoga. Karma Yoga being non-attached, non-invested into the outcome, having no lust for results and Bhakti Yoga being devotion and surrender to a Higher Order or Principle, to the Paramatma Within where I, my and mine dissolve into the Universal. There can only be suffering (pain) where there is the concept of a personal I, my and mine.


Cultivating Inner Awareness is the long-term solution to our woes. The short and medium term solution to coincide side by side with the long-term solution of cultivating Inner Awareness is to courageously face life and see as Prasad, a Divine Offering, everything that comes our way. Stop emotionally reacting to life (instead of responding), don’t react to either praise or persecution, and see everything as arising ultimately from Emptiness and ultimately returning to Emptiness in ever-recurring cycles. This is the Path of Freedom , a return home to Consciousness As Is.

bottom of page