top of page

Yoga Sutras of Patanjali translated by Yogi Kalinath - Chapter 1, Verse 38

Pada 1, Sutra 38

Sanskrit Verse

Svapna-nidra-jnanalambanam va


Or steadiness of the mind is achieved by fixing the mind upon a dream experience, or the experience of deep sleep.


The mind has four planes of expression: the unconscious, the subconscious, the conscious and the superconscious. Let’s look at each briefly in turn:

¨ The unconscious is the state of dreamless sleep or Nidra in Sanskrit

¨ The subconscious is the dream state or Svapna in Sanskrit

¨ The conscious is the waking state or Jagrata in Sanskrit

¨ The superconscious is known as the undifferentiated state or Turya in Sanskrit also analogous with the state of Samadhi.

By becoming distinctly aware of one’s dream experiences and the state of deep sleep, of becoming conscious of the transition from one to the other—from waking, to sleep, to the dream state and deep sleep back to the dream state and consciously waking, one will become Aware of the Continuity of Consciousness which is the constant and reports to us (i.e. bring to our awareness) on its flow.

When the Yogi is able to Witness (observe in a detached manner) the Flow of Consciousness through the various planes of mind and perceive and unite them as a single state of consciousness, one will experience the undifferentiated state, Turya, and becoming that, the Bliss of Samadhi.

bottom of page