top of page

Yoga Sutras of Patanjali translated by Yogi Kalinath - Chapter 1, Verse 6

Pada 1, Sutra 6

Sanskrit Verse

Pramana viparyaya vikalpa nidra smrtayah


They are right knowledge, wrong knowledge, conceptualization/imagination, sleep and memory.


Right Knowledge, wrong knowledge, conceptualization/imagination, sleep and memory are the five-fold vrtti or mental activities/mind fluctuations.

Both mind and Nature are in constant flux. Nature is the mirror of change and impermanence (or G-O-D being Generation Order and Decay ad-infinitum) while mind is the mirror reflecting the activities and expressions within Consciousness. Mastery of self leading to mastery of life can only be achieved when one slows down the fluctuations and vagaries of the mind and controls its contents as foundational.

By distinguishing and being aware of the various types of fluctuations of the mind-stuff, here listed broadly as five by Patanjali, we can cease identifying with them and release their hold on us.

The next five verses will expand on the meaning of each of the vrtti.


The mind of a perfect man is like a mirror. It grasps nothing. It expects nothing. It reflects but does not hold. Therefore, the perfect man can act without effort.


bottom of page